Double-Standards in the Fringe?

I subscribe to an e-newsletter from a website called Serious Times. Now, I’m not a big fan of the website’s name, because it might be misinterpreted as playing into the Culture War mentality that keeps so many well-intentioned Christians from doing the redemptive work of Christ. But Serious Times has great content. I’m a fan because it’s published by James Emery White. White is President of Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary (where I almost decided to pursue my Master’s), and whatever he puts out usually has very sharp and very positive thoughts addressing how Christ-followers can/should/might relate to culture in a loving, reconciliatory way. White also wrote a great mini-bio on William Wilberforce for 2006’s Catalyst Groupzine (which I have a copy of, and am dying to discuss with others, since it seems we’ll never get around to it here in our weekly staff studies).

Without further ado, here is an article on the ST site that got my gears turning.

[Right-click. Open Link in New Tab. Read. Come back.]

I’ve been trying to ask more questions recently, to reconcile my posts with the blog’s title. But reading stuff like this just makes me want to be discouraged… annoyed… bitter… accusing… lashing out… offensive… point out those bitter liberals’ double standards….

  • But did Alexandra Pelosi have encounters with christianizers that legitimately contributed to her bias?
  • What will I do this week to take fuel from –not add to– Alexandra Pelosi’s fire?
  • What will I do to help other Christ-followers counteract the damage possibly done by misguided christianizers?
  • In what areas am I on the fringe, and where do I need to obliterate my double-standards?

I’ll leave you with a few words about where to maybe go from here, uttered by one who was often plagued by depression over his self-perceived Christian impotence…

“I am only one, but I am one. I cannot do everything, but I can do something. And that which I can do, by the grace of God, I will do.” -Dwight L. Moody

Leave a Reply

