Rifts & Reconciliation

Was poking around the blogosphere, looking at blogs of friends of friends and whatnot. I came across the blog of Dwight Friesen, one of my friend Matt ‘s professors at Mars Hill Graduate School in Seattle. There are many good posts on Dwight’s blog, and I found this one to be most interesting.

If you’re someone that shares my interests, you probably know at least a little bit about Marc Driscoll, who pastors the Mars Hill up in Seattle (not affiliated with the Michigan/Rob Bell Mars Hill Bible Church). I don’t play the Black/White, Us/Them game, so while I will neither fully endorse nor condemn Driscoll, let’s just say he’s a lightning rod. He accomplishes some tangible good, and he draws some legitimate criticism as well. One “hot potato” issue is his overall view on gender roles. The author of the open letter in Dwight’s post does a very eloquent and civilized job of declaring her concerns about Driscoll’s handling of the issue and inviting him into dialogue. Hearing Rick McKinley (of Imago Dei) at Catalyst got me to begin chewing on the idea of the Kingdom of God in the here and now. Rose Swetman, the letter’s author, appeals to this view in her discussion of gender roles:

“My basic theological presupposition is Kingdom of God theology […]. I believe the Kingdom is here now, but “not yet.” This view leads me to the conclusion that the future of the Kingdom is here in the present and that we, the church, are to be a sign and witness of Kingdom order. When the Kingdom is consummated, the Scripture states that “we will all” reign with Christ.”

Also, I really was hooked by Rose’s citation of Paul’s letter to the church in Galatia:

“The passage in Galatians about no Jew or Greek, male or female, slave or free seems to sum up God’s story in Jesus.”

So whether or not you agree with the snippets I’ve provided above, just go read the letter; it’s good food for thought.

Leave a Reply

