Why prove? Prove what? How?

"If God and humankind resemble each other so closely so as to essentially belong to the same category of being, the conclusion "threfore Christ was God" makes perfect sense. But this is nothing but humbug. If that is all there is to being God, then God does not exist at all! …But if God belongs to a category infinitely different from the human, why, then neither I nor any one else can start with the assumption that Christ was human and then logically conclude that therefore he was God. Anyone with a bit of logical sense should be able to see this. The question of whether or not he was God lies on an entirely different plane: each person must decide for himself whether or not he will believe Christ to be what he himself claimed to be."

Søren Kierkegaard

Doesn't it work like that? Sure, we're created in God's image. But if you look at how different He is from us, that chasm of difference surely must approach infinity.

I don't want my faith to boil down to facts and syntax and logical constructions. In my early days as a Christian, I was all about apologetics. But I'm questioning that discipline now and then. (Let's be honest, I only think about it now and then.) Did I ever "use" them? Sure… in online forums where no one ever changes their mind. More clearly, did I ever incorporate them into my relationships with those not experiencing the Way, the Truth, and the Life? I can't recall a single instance.

Saint Paul asks, "What if some did not have faith? Will their lack of faith nullify God's faithfulness?" His take on it: "Not at all! Let God be true, and every man a liar."

God will be true. True as in the opposite of falsehood. True as in consistent with his character.

I'm responsible to share my story about how that divine character has taken me for a wild ride.

Leave a Reply

