Targa

When you hear that word, what do you think of?

I can’t help but think of an open-topped Porsche. Here’s what the company has to say about the word:

We named the Targa after the Targa Florio, that evocative long distance race track in the Sicilian mountains where for ten years our cars have been subjected to the most gruelling sports trials, but also to invoke images of the marvellous setting of this race track, of the Sicilian springtime, the southern sunshine, the summer temperatures and the blue sea.

Sounds pretty good. As a fun second meaning, Targa is also Italian for “shield.” On this car, shield = rollbar.

Now, I’ve never really been a fan of this specific bloodline of the 911. I guess the newer ones that I’ve mostly seen just look funky for some reason. It’s not ugly, but basically, if I was ever going to buy a Porsche, my first choice would not have been a Targa.

It’s funny how preferences can change so quickly. Let’s stay with this Targa example. When I found out last week that my father-in-law was ready for us to take his black 1967 Porsche 911 Targa off his hands… well, let’s just say I think that machine is a work of art.

Yep, I just inherited a classic Porsche. Sometimes it feels like life is too good to be true. And you know what? I don’t really talk about it that much. I don’t want to be one of those people that others just kind of tune out, expecting a proud rant on how prosperous their life is. But those that know me know that I am totally sold on how Porsche does things.

Wow. I’m happy.

But there’s more to this train of thought. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

